Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF)

Every year, students from Kalamazoo College participate at the Region III Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF).

At the festival, students watch productions from selected colleges, participate in musical theatre and dance intensives, and go to workshops to improve their craft. There are also a multitude of awards and honors that students receive from the festival and our students have won and been nominated for many of them.

If you are interested in participating in KCACTF in the future, please contact our Company Manager, Laura Livingstone-McNelis at

Student Awards/ Nominations

2022: Virtual

Claire de Vries ’24- Irene Ryan Semi-Finalist

Cameo Green ’23 and Arman Khan ’24 – Irene Ryan Scholarship Nominations

2020: Madison College, Madison WI  

Aly Homminga ’20 – Collaboration and Devised Theatre scholarship

Milan Levy ’23 – Golden Collaborator Award

Rebecca Chan ’22, Sophia Hill ’20 – Irene Ryan Scholarship Nominations

2019: Madison College, Madison WI  

Rebecca Chan ’22 – Institute for Theatre Journalism Advocacy (ITJA) Region III Nominee (one of four students selected) 

Kate Kreiss ’19 – ITJA Honorable Mention  

Teyia Artis ’21 – Stage Management Fellowship participant and Certificate of Merit for her work on It Can’t Happen Here

Grace Erway ’22, Matthew Swarthout ’22, Karishma Singh ’19 – Irene Ryan Scholarship Nominations

2018: University of Indiana, Indianapolis, IN 

Festival Playhouse’s 2017 production of Fun Home was one of seven Midwest productions chosen to perform at the festival. 

The production gained national recognition and won “The Golden Handcart” for technical production quality and load-in and load-out of the production.

Stina Taylor ’18 – Set Design Award for her work on Fun Home

Ellie Hughes ’21, Sam Meyers ’18 – Irene Ryan Scholarship Nominations 

2017: University of Indiana, Indianapolis, IN

Kate Kreiss ’19, Lauren Landman ’18, and Madison Donoho ’17 – Irene Ryan Scholarship Nominations 


Grace Gilmore ’15 – Irene Ryan Scholarship Finalist

Lindsay Worthington ’17 – Sound Design Finalist


Jane Huffman ’15 – Theatre Journalism National Winner

Visit the KCACTF website for more information.